2024 Short Track Super Series at Accord Speedway

Short Track Super Series Race Day Preview: Accord Speedway

Short Track Super Series Race Day Preview: Accord Speedway

Storylines, stars and sleepers for Tuesday's Short Track Super Series Battle of the Bullring at Accord Speedway.

May 14, 2024 by FloRacing Staff

The Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By Sunoco goes green tonight at Accord Speedway for the ‘Battle of the Bullring.’

Tonight’s event serves as the 10th ‘Battle of the Bullring’ under STSS sanctioning at Gary Palmer’s quarter-mile oval.

The STSS and Accord Speedway come together to honor Accord icon Barry Davis tonight. The 50-lap STSS Modified main event pays $9,090.90, a tribute to Davis’s No. 9D from his racing days.


The River Valley Builders North Region title chase kicks off tonight at Accord Speedway and serves as Round No. 4 of the Ollie’s Overall Championship.

The $9,090.90 payday to the winner of the STSS Modified main event is among the largest paydays in Accord Speedway’s history.

In addition to the healthy winner’s share, several extra bonuses and awards are up for grabs, a total of $7,018.89.

Tonight’s affair continues the busy month of May for the STSS, with three more races on the calendar during the month.

St. Catherines, Ontario, Canada’s Mat Williamson enters Accord leading the Ollie’s Overall Championship standings as the North Region kicks off.


Walden, N.Y.’s Anthony Perrego enters the ‘Battle of the Bullring’ as the only multi-time winner of the event, having done so three times in ’14, ’17, and ’21. Perrego currently sits second in the Ollie’s Overall Championship, just seven markers behind Williamson.

Sprakers, N.Y.’s Stewart Friesen rolls into Accord on a hot streak, having picked up wins in his last two starts, including an STSS win at Delaware International Speedway in Delmar, Del. Friesen took home the checkered in the ’16 ‘Battle of the Bullring.’

Sheffield, Mass. star Andy Bachetti won the Season Opener at Accord Speedway and will call the bullring home on Friday nights this season. ‘The Wild Child’ claimed victory in the ’19 ‘Battle of the Bullring.’


VIDEO: 10 Questions with Short Track Super Series driver Danny Creeden


Wurtsboro, N.Y.’s Danny Creeden has been shut out of STSS Victory Lane since 2018. Creeden was the runner-up to Williamson in the ’21 ‘Battle of the Bullring,’ with a hard-nosed style of racing that fits right in at Accord.

Potsdam, N.Y.’s Michael Maresca will make a rare trip to Accord Speedway in search of the $9,090.90 payday. Maresca is fresh off a $4,444 payday at N.Y.’s Fonda Speedway in his most recent start.

Bohemia, N.Y.’s Dillon Steuer, like Bachetti, will call Accord Speedway home on Friday nights. Steuer finished third in the season opener at Accord and finished fourth in the ’23 STSS North Region standings.


The STSS Crate 602 Sportsman kick off the Madsen Overhead Doors North Region at Accord Speedway with a 25-lap feature on tap for tonight.

The North Region opener will pay $1,500 to the STSS Crate 602 Sportsman winner.

The Pure Stocks will also be on hand under Accord Speedway rules and procedures.


Next Tuesday, May 21, the STSS heads to Action Track USA in Kutztown, Pa., for the ‘Berks County Brawl’ for the STSS Modifieds. All cars who attempt to qualify will receive 75-show up points.

The feature pays $5,000-to-win with 16 cars to start and a fully paid B-Main on tap as well.

Also on the May calendar, the STSS Crate 602 Sportsman make a trip to Brookfield (N.Y.) Speedway (May 26), and the inaugural STSS visit to Airborne Park Speedway in Plattsburgh, N.Y. (May 30).


Don’t forget to set your Dirt Draft lineups before the night’s first heat race begins.

Visit www.dirtdraft.com or download the app to join Dirt Draft and compete against thousands of others for the entire 2024 STSS season. A subscription is just $5.99 a month with plenty of prizes up for grabs in the Dirt Draft Speed Shop.

Following along with the STSS on Dirt Draft throughout the ‘24 season will pay one lucky fan dividends at year-end.

The STSS Dirt Draft Champion receives two tickets to the STSS year-end banquet and will be honored with a custom trophy presented by Dirt Draft.


For the May 14 event, all gates open at 4 p.m. Hot laps are slated for 6:15 p.m. with racing to follow at 7:15 p.m.

Grandstand admission is $28 for Adults, $25 for Seniors (ages 65 & up). Kids ages 11 and under are admitted for $3.

Outdoor Reserved Seating available at $2 upgrade; Indoor Reserved Seating is available for $35: call 845.626.1194 or e-mail accordspeedway@outlook.com to reserve.

Pit admission is $45 (no license required) and $10 for Kids 10 and under.


The entire night of racing will be broadcast live on FloRacing (www.floracing.tv) via the annual subscription. Click here to sign up.


May 9, 2023: MATT SHEPPARD – Mat Williamson – Anthony Perrego – Rusty Smith – Billy Pauch Jr.

May 10, 2022: MAT WILLIAMSON – Danny Creeden – Andy Bachetti – Bobby Hackel – Danny Tyler

May 11, 2021: ANTHONY PERREGO – Mat Williamson – Mike Mahaney – Tyler Dippel – Scott Ferrier

July 9, 2019: ANDY BACHETTI – Mike Gular – Rich Ricci Jr. – Matt Sheppard – J.R. Hurlburt

July 3, 2018: JERRY HIGBIE – Anthony Perrego – Jeremy Smith – Danny Creeden – Jimmy Wells

July 3, 2017: ANTHONY PERREGO – Jimmy Wells – Billy Decker – Rob Rowe – Jerry Higbie

July 5, 2016: STEWART FRIESEN – Danny Johnson – Jimmy Horton – Danny Creeden – Erick Rudolph

May 19, 2015: JACKIE BROWN JR. – Tommy Meier – Danny Tyler – Danny Johnson – Anthony Perrego

August 6, 2014: ANTHONY PERREGO – Tommy Meier – Mike Ricci – Rich Ricci Jr. – Jerry Higbie Jr.