2024 Nippy 50 at Maquoketa Speedway

Nippy 50 Attracting Dirt Late Model Racing's Biggest Stars

Nippy 50 Attracting Dirt Late Model Racing's Biggest Stars

A star-studded field of Dirt Late Model drivers will be in action during the inaugural Nippy 50 at Maquoketa Speedway.

Mar 27, 2024 by Brandon Paul
Nippy 50 Attracting Dirt Late Model Racing's Biggest Stars

Many of Dirt Late Model racing’s biggest stars will be calling Maquoketa, Iowa home this weekend, March 29-30, during the inaugural Nippy 50 at Maquoketa Speedway. Earlier this week, event officials from Hoker Promotions released an impressive pre-race entry list for the $20,000-to-win race. 

Among the drivers expected to be in action are last year’s two winningest Dirt Late Model drivers, Ricky Thornton Jr. and Bobby Pierce. Thornton and Pierce both collected 34 wins across the country one year ago. 

Joining RTJ and The Smooth Operator on the pre-race entry list are the last two Gateway Dirt Nationals winners, Brandon Sheppard (2023) and Tyler Erb (2022). Both drivers will be in search of a win that could help kick off the busy part of the 2024 Dirt Late Model schedule. 

A strong contingent of Illinois drivers will be represented at the Nippy 50 with drivers like Brian Shirley, Jason Feger, Shannon Babb, Gordy Gundaker and Ryan Unzicker expected to enter the race. 

Iowa natives Ryan Gustin, Chris Simpson and Chad Simpson will be among the drivers looking to keep the $20,000 top prize in the Hawkeye State. 

Rising star Drake Troutman, who was recently named to FloRacing’s 20 Under 20 list, is expected to make the trip to Iowa, as is 2022 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Rookie of the Year Garrett Alberson. 

The complete list of expected drivers for the inaugural Nippy 50 can be viewed at the bottom of this story. 

On-track action kicks off Thursday night with practice before a $5,000-to-win Super Late Model preliminary night feature on Friday. That all leads into the $20,000 main event on Saturday, March 30. 

IMCA Modifieds will also be in competition during the weekend with a $1,000-to-win race on Friday and $1,500-to-win race on Saturday. 

Both nights of racing on Friday and Saturday will be streamed live on FloRacing for fans unable to attend the event in person. If you’re not already a FloRacing subscriber, click here to sign up today. 

Nippy 50 Super Late Model Tentative Driver Roster

Brian Shirley 

Jason Feger

Todd Cooney 

Ryan Gustin 

Chris Simpson 

Chad Simpson

Ricky Thornton Jr. 

Drake Troutman 

Spencer Diercks 

Matt Ryan

Bobby Pierce

Dylan Thornton 

Tyler Erb

Gordy Gundaker 

Trevor Gundaker 

Shannon Babb

Jaden Fryer 

Brian Harris

Brandon Sheppard 

Justin Kay 

Cole Czarneski 

Sammy Mars 

Cody Overton 

Daniel Adam 

Ryan Unzinker

David Webster 

Ty Webster

Garrett Alberson