2023 USAC BC39 at The Dirt Track at IMS

BC39 Entry List Hits 70, Plus Cannon, Axsom & KTJ Join In On The IMS Dirt

BC39 Entry List Hits 70, Plus Cannon, Axsom & KTJ Join In On The IMS Dirt

Seventy USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midgets are entered for the fifth running of the Driven2SaveLives BC39, which will be held Sept. 27-30.

Sep 18, 2023 by FloRacing Staff
BC39 Entry List Hits 70, Plus Cannon, Axsom & KTJ Join In On The IMS Dirt

Seventy USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midgets are entered for the fifth running of the Driven2SaveLives BC39, which will be held at The Dirt Track at Indianapolis Motor Speedway from Sept. 27-30.

The latest additions to the lineup include driver Cannon McIntosh and the Dave Mac-Dalby Motorsports team. The Bixby, Oklahoma, native finished as the runner-up in the 2022 BC39 and led a race-high 20 of the 39 laps at the 1/4-mile dirt track.

Additionally, Emerson Axsom (Franklin, Indiana) has been added as the seventh driver for the Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports stable. The 2021 fifth-place finishing BC39 driver will pilot car No. 68 for the reigning BC39-winning team.

Kevin Thomas Jr. (Cullman, Alabama) led the first laps in BC39 history during the inaugural 2018 event, in which he finished third. KTJ will be behind the wheel of the Crouch Motorsports No. 1 for the 2023 edition of the race.

Also filing BC39 entries Thursday were Louisiana driver Chelby Hinton, who’ll wheel a car owned by Klatt Enterprises, and wrenched by USAC Hall of Famer Bob East. 

North Carolina’s Austin Barnhill will drive for Dave Mac-Dalby Motorsports. 

Kevin Cook (Winchester, Indiana) will be in the seat of his own No. 9p.

** The final cutoff for all BC39 entries is Sept. 25 at TheBC39.com. **

Previously filing their entries to compete in this year’s BC39 were Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, Oklahoma), the 2018 BC39 winner, plus 2022 BC39 winner, Buddy Kofoid (Penngrove, California), who will be participating during Wednesday and Thursday’s preliminary rounds.

Current USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget point leader and 2018 series champion Logan Seavey (Sutter, California) is entered, as well as two-time USAC National champion Justin Grant (Ione, California) and 2019 USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National champion C.J. Leary (Greenfield, Indiana).

The always exciting Thomas Meseraull (San Jose, California) is entered after contending for the win in each of the past two editions of the BC39 in 2021 and 2022, as is top USAC Silver Crown rookie Kaylee Bryson (Muskogee, Oklahoma), who owns the best finish by a woman in BC39 history with seventh-place performance in 2022.

USAC Triple Crown champion Jerry Coons (Tucson, Arizona) is entered for the four-night event, as is three-time USAC National Midget winner Jacob Denney (Galloway, Ohio), 2023 series winner Zach Daum (Pocahontas, Illinois) and USAC national feature winner Matt Westfall (Pleasant Hill, Ohio).

Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports, the winning team of the 2022 running of the BC39, has entered seven cars for the event, including entries for series for 2023 USAC National Midget winners Ryan Timms (Oklahoma City) and Gavin Miller (Allentown, Pennsylvania), plus Jade Avedisian (Clovis, California), Taylor Reimer (Bixby, Oklahoma) and Mariah Ede (Fresno, California).

The 2022 USAC National Midget Rookie of the Year, Mitchel Moles (Raisin City, California), will make his second BC39 appearance this year after leading the initial 12 laps of last year’s BC39. 

Two-time USAC National Midget feature winner Daison Pursley (Locust Grove, Oklahoma) also will return to the BC39, as well as first-time 2023 USAC National Midget feature winner Bryant Wiedeman (Colby, Kansas) and recent series winner Kyle Cummins (Princeton, Indiana).

Driver Registration Is Open

Driver registration is now open for the fifth running of the Driven2SaveLives BC39. 

Teams can file their entries at usacracing.ticketspice.com/2023-bc39, where they also may purchase grandstand tickets, pit and parking passes for the event.

The final cutoff for all BC39 entries is Sept. 25.

There are three options for viewing the racing action and also having pit pass access. You can purchase a competitor pit pass – where no seat is included, with limited viewing of the track.

Secondly, you can purchase a competitor pit pass with reserved seating included, which are available in the lower level of the main grandstands.

You also may purchase a grandstand seat from the IMS ticketing site with a pit pass upgrade. Competitors must enter IMS via the 16th Street tunnel.

Each entry filed will come with two VIP parking passes for inside parking at IMS, intended for driver and entrant. All others must either purchase inside parking or park outside of Turn 3 and Turn 4 of 2.5-mile paved oval track.

Spectator tickets also are available TheBC39.com. Spectators are to enter the Indianapolis Motor Speedway via 30th Street.

The event on the quarter-mile dirt oval inside Turn 3 at IMS will continue to honor late USAC champion and three-time Indianapolis 500 starter Bryan Clauson and increase awareness of and participation in the Indiana Donor Network and Driven2SaveLives.

Brady Bacon (2018), Zeb Wise (2019), Kyle Larson (2021) and Buddy Kofoid (2022) have captured victories in the first four editions of the BC39.

The BC39 will get underway Sept. 26 with team parking at 3 p.m. Eastern, followed by a BC39 Welcome Party at USAC Headquarters at 6 p.m.

On-track action will begin Sept. 27, starting with the drivers’ meeting in the IMS Media Room at 3 p.m. Eastern. 

Public gates will open at 4 p.m., with cars hitting the track for practice at 7 p.m., followed by the incredibly exciting Stoops Pursuit feature race, which will conclude the night’s racing action at 9 p.m. In this event, 25 cars will start and compete in five, five-lap segments. If a driver gets passed in any segment, he or she is eliminated.

For Sept. 28-29, the field will be split into two, with half of the field competing on Night 1, and the other half competing on Night 2. On both nights, public gates will open at 4 p.m. Eastern, with hot laps at 6 p.m., followed by qualifying, opening ceremonies, heat races, the C-Main, the semi-feature and the feature event.

The finale, on Sept. 30, will have the public gates opening at 4 p.m. and cars on track for practice at 6 p.m., followed by opening ceremonies at 7 p.m. and the main events, starting with the D-Main, multiple C-Mains, semi-feature and the 39-lap feature event, which will pay $20,039-to-win.