2023 Short Track Super Series Fonda 200 at Fonda Speedway

Stewart Friesen Beats Matt Sheppard For Third Career Fonda 200 Win

Stewart Friesen Beats Matt Sheppard For Third Career Fonda 200 Win

Stewart Friesen came out on top of a battle with Matt Sheppard to win his third career Fonda 200 at Fonda Speedway.

Sep 18, 2023 by Brandon Paul

Stewart Friesen emerged victorious in a battle with defending race winner Matt Sheppard to claims his third Fonda 200 victory at Fonda Speedway on Saturday night. 

Friesen took the lead from Sheppard on a late restart and pulled away to claim the $53,000 victory. 

Sheppard finished in the runner-up position, collecting a nice $20,000 check for his efforts. Tyler Dipppel, who only makes a handful of Modified starts each season, completed the podium and earned a $10,000 payday. 

Mat Williamson rebounded from a flat tire early in the race to finish fourth, while Tim Fuller charged from deep in the field to complete the top-five. 


Fonda 200 Highlights

Winning Quote From Stewart Friesen

"That's pretty darn special right there. 53,000 reasons, baby! It feels so damn good. I'm just so proud of our whole race team. I don't know what to say. I'm speechless. The Fonda 200 is one of the most historical races in the Northeast and it's my home track. To keep this one at home for all of these great Fonda fans and my family and friends, it means the world."

Fonda 200 Results

1. Stewart Friesen

2. Matt Sheppard

3. Tyler Dippel

4. Mat Williamson

5. Tim Fuller

6. Anthony Perrego

7. Jessica Friesen

8. Matt DeLorenzo

9. Brian Calabrese

10. Danny Bouc

11. Max McLaughlin

12. Bobby Varin

13. Marc Johnson

14. Dillon Steuer

15. Steve Bernier

16. Cody Clark

17. Ancel Collins

18. Chris Curtis

19. Michael Parent

20. Alex Yankowski

21. Andy Bachetti

22. Mike Mahaney

23. Dave Constantino

24. Bobby Hackel IV

25. Billy Decker

26. Demetrios Drellos

27. Ronnie Johnson

28. Rocky Warner

29. Tucker O’Connor

30. Pep Corradi

31. David Schilling

32. JaMike Sowle

33. Darren Smith

34. Dave Camara

35. Ryan Odasz

36. J.R. Hurlburt

37. Danny Varin

38. Cory Costa

39. Brian Pessolano

40. Michael Trautschold

41. Neil Stratton

Short Track Super Series Elite Point Standings

Matt Sheppard leads Mat Williamson by 58 points in the Short Track Super Series Elite point standings with just one race remaining at Port Royal Speedway on October 14. 

Last Race: September 3 - Short Track Super Series Elite at Utica-Rome Speedway

Up Next: October 14 - Short Track Super Series Speed Showcase at Port Royal Speedway