2023 High Limit Sprint Series at Eagle Raceway

Kyle Larson Rolls In High Limit Sprint Car Series Thriller At Eagle Raceway

Kyle Larson Rolls In High Limit Sprint Car Series Thriller At Eagle Raceway

Kyle Larson claimed his third straight High Limit Sprint Car Series win during Tuesday's electric 410 Sprint Car return to Eagle Raceway.

Jun 7, 2023 by Kyle McFadden

Kyle Larson of Elk Grove, Calif., continued his dominance of the High Limit Sprint Car Series on Tuesday at Eagle (Neb.) Raceway, overpowering his nearest competitors once again for a third straight victory on the tour worth $28,023.

For the second straight week, it was Rico Abreu of St. Helena, Calif., that stood as Larson's greatest challenger. Abreu led the opening 18 laps and finished on the losing end of a thrilling head-to-head battle in the final laps that riveted Eagle's packed house. Abreu finished 0.489 of a second behind Larson at the checkers, while 17th-starting Giovanni Scelzi of of Fresno, Calif., delivered an all California podium.

Larson led the final 14 laps, assuming control when mid-race leader Brent Marks stunningly flipped after catching a rut in the curb-building racing surface through turns one and two. It's the second race in a row Marks, who led laps 18 through 26, wrecked while either in the lead or making a move for the lead.

Buddy Kofoid of Penngrove, Calif., the night's overall fast qualifier, finished fourth and Anthony Macri of Dillsburg, Pa., the fastest qualifier in Group B, finished fifth. Kofoid, Dusty Zomer of Brandon, S.D.; Macri and Tyler Courtney of Indianapolis, Ind., won the heats while Abreu won the dash.

Kasey Kahne, Jake Swanson and Carson McCarl were among drivers that failed to qualify for Tuesday's 40-lap main event.

Watch Replay

High Limit Sprint Car Series At Eagle Raceway Highlights

VIDEO: Watch highlights from the High Limit Sprint Car Series at Eagle Raceway.

Winning Quote From Kyle Larson

“I hope you fans enjoyed that. (Eagle owner) Roger Haden, they did a great job. I was worried when we saw it so fast in the heat races. But, man, that track was great. Thanks to everybody at Eagle Raceway; everybody in the pits, everybody in the stands to get back here and watch some 410s. I'm glad Rico and I could put on a show."

High Limit Sprint Car Series At Eagle Raceway Results

  1. Kyle Larson
  2. Rico Abreu
  3. Giovanni Scelzi
  4. Buddy Kofoid
  5. Anthony Macri
  6. Chase Randall
  7. Zeb Wise
  8. Jake Bubak
  9. Aaron Reutzel
  10. Corey Day
  11. Cory Eliason
  12. Ryan Timms
  13. Austin McCarl
  14. Brady Bacon
  15. Danny Dietrich
  16. Robbie Price
  17. Brian Brown
  18. Riley Goodno
  19. Blake Hahn
  20. Sam Haftertepe Jr.
  21. Dusty Zomer
  22. Cole Macedo
  23. Brent Marks
  24. Tyler Courtney
  25. Lachlan McHugh
  26. Jack Dover

High Limit Sprint Car Series Standings After Eagle Raceway

Kyle Larson pads his lead to 49 points over Anthony Macri and Rico Abreu (-49) with his third straight victory.

Brian Brown (-79) and Buddy Kofoid (-81) are the top-five. Zeb Wise jumps from 10th to sixth, 95 points behind, after his 14th-to-seventh performance. Cory Eliason (-98), Tyler Courtney (-103), Aaron Reutzel (-106) and Brady Bacon (-108) make up the top-10.

Updated Point Standings

Last Race: June 6 - High Limit Sprint Car Series at Eagle Raceway

Up Next: July 25 - High Limit Sprint Car Series at Grandview Speedway