2023 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals

Who's Racing Friday At The Lucas Oil Chili Bowl

Who's Racing Friday At The Lucas Oil Chili Bowl

Take a look at the list of drivers who will be racing during Friday's preliminary night at the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.

Jan 13, 2023 by Brandon Paul
Who's Racing Friday At The Lucas Oil Chili Bowl

The final two lock-in spots to Saturday’s Championship A-Main at the Chili Bowl Nationals will be decided tonight.

It’s the last batch of 70+ racers to hit the track for their preliminary as we decide the final car count of the 37th annual event and we decide the lineups for the famed alphabet soup.

Headlining Friday’s preliminary is of course Justin Grant in the RMS Racing, NOS Energy Drink No. 2G. “JG” is the new Mr. Friday Night, winning five of the last six preliminary A-Mains here and doing it with three different teams – Clauson-Marshall, Rick Young, and RMS. He’ll be trying to join his teammate, Spencer Bayston, in the big dance tomorrow.

Building his own entry labeled the Kevin Swindell/Mike Curb No. 39, the four-time Chili Bowl champion turned car owner will send Logan Seavey out tonight aboard a new-look car with Victory Fuel on the side.

Jason McDougal, a man who is accustomed to making magic in this building, will take the wheel of one of the most iconic cars in Chili Bowl history tonight. The Broken Arrow, OK native is driving for three-time champion Andy Bondio as J-Mac eyes his second start in Saturday’s A-Main.

After locking-in with Emerson Axsom last night, Reinbold/Underwood Motorsports returns tonight with Alex Bright at the wheel. The former preliminary winner is going for his fourth Championship A-Main start this week.

Daryn Pittman, the 2017 Chili Bowl runner-up, will make a transition as he joins Matt Wood Racing this week – a team that has already locked-in with Shane Golobic on Monday. 

Normally in the Rudeen Racing Sprint Car on the All Star Circuit of Champions tour, Zeb Wise will now take the wheel of the Rudeen Racing No. 26R Midget as he continues to chase his first-career Championship A-Main at the Chili Bowl Nationals.

Other notable names include Andrew Felker, Clinton Boyles, Kyle Cummins, Chase McDermand, Bryant Wiedeman, Michael Faccinto, Brian Carber, Ethan Mitchell, Danny Stratton, Shane Cottle, Hunter Schuerenberg, Brenham Crouch and more. 

Friday’s fun begins at 4 p.m. CT with hot laps on FloRacing.