2023 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals

Where Thursday's Racers Will Start Saturday At Lucas Oil Chili Bowl

Where Thursday's Racers Will Start Saturday At Lucas Oil Chili Bowl

We break down where each driver in Thursday night's A-Main will start Saturday's features at the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.

Jan 13, 2023 by Brandon Paul
Where Thursday's Racers Will Start Saturday At Lucas Oil Chili Bowl

Thursday’s fourth preliminary night is now in the books, so let’s take a quick look at where last night’s A-Main starters will go in Saturday’s alphabet soup at the 37th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.

TO THE A-MAIN (1-2) – Tanner Thorson, Emerson Axsom

TO THE B-MAINS (3-8) – Brady Bacon, Tim Buckwalter, Tanner Carrick, Karter Sarff, Chase Johnson, Ryan Bernal

TO THE C-MAINS (9-14) – Dominic Gorden, Joe B. Miller, Cody Jessop, Landon Crawley, J.J. Yeley, Matt Sherrell

TO THE D-MAINS (15-20) – R.J. Johnson, Anton Hernandez, Joey Wirth, Dylan Westbrook, Chance Morton, Max Adams

TO THE E-MAINS (21-24) – Daniel Robinson, Casey Shuman, Jake Neuman, Andrew Deal

Going one-for-one with his own No. 88 team inside Tulsa’s SageNet Center, reigning Chili Bowl champion Tanner Thorson started his Golden Driller defense on the right foot, flat-out dominating Thursday’s prelim. It was over before it started in a sense, as Thorson led every single lap without contest to secure a ticket to his ninth Championship A-Main.

Running second for all 30 laps was ironically the team that Thorson drove to Chili Bowl glory with last year – Reinbold/Underwood Motorsports. In his absence, RUM tabbed 18-year-old star Emerson Axsom to drive the No. 19T and it immediately resulted in a lock-in to his first-career Chili Bowl Championship A-Main.

That means through four nights this week, we’ve seen eight different teams earn a spot in Saturday’s 55-lap grand finale. On Friday, we’ll have a chance to go a perfect 10-for-10.

On Saturday, it’ll be the top-five finishers transferring from each E-Main, D-Main, and C-Main, then the top-seven transfer from each B-Main into the 55-lap main event.

All of the Chili Bowl action continues tonight with Friday’s preliminary taking center stage. Can’t make it to Tulsa this week? Don’t worry! You can watch every lap of the action live on FloRacing.