2023 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals

Who's Racing Wednesday At The Lucas Oil Chili Bowl?

Who's Racing Wednesday At The Lucas Oil Chili Bowl?

Wednesday's roster at the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals includes Rico Abreu, Sammy Swindell and Thomas Meseraull.

Jan 11, 2023 by Brandon Paul
Who's Racing Wednesday At The Lucas Oil Chili Bowl?

If Tuesday’s preliminary taught us anything, it’s that we should expect the unexpected in Tulsa.

Tonight, the 37th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals rages on with Wednesday’s third preliminary and it’s a stout one. Tentatively, 79 drivers are entered with 23 rookies, 13 A-Main starters, and two champions highlighting the list.

Mr. Wednesday – Rico Abreu – is the headlining act as he attempts to win his sixth-straight midweek showcase, which would tie him with Sammy Swindell and Christopher Bell for the most preliminary wins in event history with all three drivers at eight wins.

To get the job done, the Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports superstar will have to topple “The GOAT” himself as Swindell, a five-time Chili Bowl champion, also participates in tonight’s preliminary aboard his iconic No. 1.

After watching his RMS Racing teammate (Spencer Bayston) lock-in last night, Thomas Meseraull will try to make it 2-for-2 for the team tonight. He’s no stranger to competing for preliminary wins, finishing runner-up twice over the last four years.

Corey Day, the reigning Chili Bowl Rookie of the Year, also joins Wednesday’s field with a new team as he joins Matt Wood Racing – a team that also already locked one car in with Shane Golobic on Monday.

Jake Swanson will try to lift the spirits of Team ABR following Alex Bowman’s heartbreaking crash on Tuesday, which sent him from fourth in the A-Main all the way down to the E-Main on Saturday. 

With teammates Chris Windom (Mon.) and Jade Avedisian (Tues.) both finishing on the podium and one spot out of the lock-in, Mitchel Moles is more determined than ever to get Chad Boat’s CB Industries squad that guaranteed A-Main appearance.

In the spirit of young superstars, Brent Crews is the top teen on Wednesday as he climbs aboard Paul May’s No. 71M. Last year, in his Chili Bowl debut, Crews found himself on the front row of a preliminary A-Main.

Other former A-Main starters included in Wednesday’s preliminary are Justin Peck, Travis Berryhill, Kevin Thomas Jr, Parker Price-Miller, Blake Hahn, and Ronnie Gardner.

Additional names to watch are Sam Hafertepe Jr, Chad Boespflug, Ricky Thornton Jr, Jake Andreotti, Taylor Reimer, and Tanner Berryhill, among more.

The fun is slated to begin at 4pm CT with hot laps on FloRacing.