2023 Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals

The Wait Is Over -- First Look At Chili Bowl Entry List Is Here

The Wait Is Over -- First Look At Chili Bowl Entry List Is Here

With the event just over a month away, the first entry list for the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals has been revealed.

Dec 5, 2022 by FloRacing Staff

It was November 30, 2022 at 6:30pm “Tulsa Time” when that magical moment happened – the initial unveiling of the 37th annual Chili Bowl Midget Nationals entry list was published.

At first glance, 116 entries (from 22 states) are featured – including 18 A-Main starters, two former champions, and 24 rookies.


Headlining the list is Minden, NV’s Tanner Thorson, who returns in 2023 with hopes of joining Kevin Swindell (2010-13), Rico Abreu (2015-16), Christopher Bell (2017-19), and Kyle Larson (2020-21) as the fifth driver to win it back-to-back. He got his Golden Driller last year with Reinbold-Underwood Motorsports, but now sports his own Tanner Thorson Racing No. 88 entry.

Who’s the other champion already entered? Oh, just some guy they call Slammin’ Sammy; he’s kind of the most prolific driver in Chili Bowl Midget Nationals history. The Germantown, TN native owns 25 A-Main starts (most all-time) and five titles (most all-time), and now eyes a sixth at 67-years-old. He’s in the familiar Spike/Stanton No. 1 with backing from John Christner Trucking.

Swindell: Give Me A Good Car, I'll Beat Most

Sammy Swindell: Give Me A Good Car, I'll Beat Most At Chili Bowl

Keeping it in the family, the Kevin Swindell/Mike Curb No. 39 will return with Sutter, CA’s Logan Seavey at the wheel for a fourth year. After a disappointing E-Main effort in 2022, this pairing is hungry to rekindle their 2020 success which resulted in a fourth-place finish in Saturday’s A-Main.

Legendary car owner and two-time Chili Bowl champion, Andy Bondio, is back with a pair of Bondio/Barnes No. 47 entries. He’ll again welcome former preliminary winner, Zach Daum, to the stable alongside new teammate Jason McDougal, who led laps of a prelim last year and most notably authored that iconic I-Main to D-Main alphabet soup run in 2021.

Alex Bowman Racing is already confirmed for a repeat of last year’s lineup with three Spike/SR-11 No. 55’s sponsored by Ally back in the building. Bowman himself will again be joined by Anaheim, CA’s Jake Swanson and Greenfield, IN’s CJ Leary. All three cars appeared in Saturday B-Mains last year, but now the goal is a 100% A-Main rate.

In addition to Bowman, NASCAR Cup Series star Chase Briscoe will return to the Chili Bowl after a sixth-place finish in a C-Main during last year's race. 

NHRA champion Cruz Pedregon will return to the Chili Bowl this year, but now as an owner. He’s purchased a pair of Spike/Chevrolet entries with intention of bringing two Tulsa first timers. World of Outlaws star Jacob Allen pilots the No. 1A with California Sprint Car ace Kalib Henry in the #6A.

The 37th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals will begin on Sunday, January 8 with a full day of practice on tap. Five nights of preliminary action will take place Monday through Friday to set the stage for the alphabet soup and main event on Saturday, January 14. 

Fans unable to make it to Tulsa, Oklahoma will be able to watch the full week of racing from the Chili Bowl live on FloRacing. If you're not already a FloRacing subscriber, click here to sign up today.