2022 Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals

Who's Racing Friday At The Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals?

Who's Racing Friday At The Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals?

A look at the roster for Friday's Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals preliminary action at The Dome at America's Center.

Dec 2, 2022 by Brandon Paul
Setting The Stage: Gateway Friday

A field of more than 120 dirt late model drivers have been split into two nights of preliminary action for the 2022 Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals. After 65 drivers competed in Thursday's preliminary action, another strong field of 60-plus drivers are expected to be in action on Friday night. 

Drivers competing on Friday will run a full racing program that includes hot laps, qualifying, heat races, b-mains and a 25-lap main event paying $5,000 to win. Only the top-three finishers in Friday's A-Main will join Saturday's lineup that currently includes Bobby Pierce, Ryan Unzicker and Tanner English. 

After Thursday's preliminary night was filled with Illinois flavor, Friday night will feature a roster filled with personality and national stars. 

Headlining the list of drivers competing Friday is two-time defending Gateway Dirt Nationals winner and fan favorite Tyler Carpenter. The West Virginia native is back in the building looking to become the first driver to win the race three times. 

If Carpenter's personality isn't enough for you, let us introduce you to dirt late model hall-of-famer Scott Bloomquist, the inaugural winner of the Gateway Dirt Nationals. The polarizing driver from Tennessee is hungry to get back to victory lane, and what better place to do it then inside The Dome at America's Center. 

Adding even more personality to the night will be Texas driver Tyler Erb, as he prepares to make his first dirt late model start at the Gateway Dirt Nationals. Devin Moran will also be back in action at Gateway for the first time since the inaugural event in 2016. 

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series playoff driver Carson Hocevar will also be in action Friday night as he prepares to make his third career start in a dirt late model. 

Hudson O'Neal, a former preliminary night winner at Gateway, will be in the field as he seeks his second prelim win and first career Gateway Dirt Nationals victory. 

Other notables competing Friday night include Donald McIntosh, Garrett Alberson, Trevor Gundaker and Wil Herrington. 

A full list of drivers who will be racing on Friday night can be viewed below. 

Fans unable to make it out to The Dome at America's Center will be able to watch live on FloRacing. If you're not already a FloRacing subscriber, click here to sign up today. 

Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals Friday Preliminary Roster

Andy Picklesimer

Austin Horton

Austin Seelig

Bob Sidener

Carson Hocevar

Casey White

Chris Nash

Cody Bauer

Cody Holtkamp

Colin Shipley

Cyle Forgy

Daniel Jacober

Derek Fetter

Devin Moran

Donald McIntosh

Dylan Knowles

Garrett Alberson

Gregory Kimmons

Harry Hanson

Hudson O’Neal

Jadon Frame

Jason Welshan

Jesse Lowe

Jody Knowles

Jonathan Lee

Justin Green

Justin Reed

Justin Carter

Kenny Collins

Kyle Lear

Lance Brasington

Max Nelson

Max Baker

Megan Sanders

Mike Provenzano

Mike Spatola

Nathan Carpenter

Nicky Pennington

Oscar McCown

Patrik Daniel

Robert Ardy

Ruben Mayfield

Rylee Knoll

Scot Cimfl

Scott Bloomquist

Steve Sheppard, Jr. 

Timothy McKeehan

Timothy Welch

Todd Brennan

Trevor Gundaker

Tyler Carpenter

Tyler Erb

Wil Herrington

Zach Wohlers