2022 Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals

Who's Racing Thursday At The Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals?

Who's Racing Thursday At The Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals?

A look at the roster for Thursday's Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals preliminary action at The Dome at America's Center.

Dec 1, 2022 by Brandon Paul
Setting The Stage: Gateway Opening Day

A field of more than 120 dirt late model drivers have been split into two nights of preliminary action for the 2022 Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals. Thursday and Friday's preliminary nights will both feature fields of more than 60 drivers as drivers battle for three transfer spots into Saturday's main event. 

Thursday night's field is stacked with a heavy does of Illinois flavor, with some of The Prairie State's best drivers in action. 

Highlighting the list of drivers racing on Thursday night is two-time Gateway Dirt Nationals winner Bobby Pierce. "The Smooth Operator" visited victory line at The Dome in 2017 and 2018. Pierce has also qualified for the main event in all five of the previous Gateway Dirt Nationals. 

Joining Pierce in Thursday's field will be four-time World of Outlaws Late Model champion and fellow Illinois driver Brandon Sheppard, who is back in his family-owned No. 5 for this weekend's event. 

Shannon Babb, a fan favorite at The Dome since the inaugural event in 2016, will also be in action Thursday night while chasing his third preliminary night win. 


VIDEO: Bobby Pierce, Brandon Sheppard and Shannon Babb sat down for a dinner conversation in St. Louis.

Gordy Gundaker, who has become a staple at the Gateway Dirt Nationals, will look to lock into the main event for the sixth straight occasion on Thursday night. 

ARCA Menards Series winner Ryan Unzicker will also be racing Thursday night as he looks to build on his five career top-five finishes in the race. 

In addition the impressive list of Illinois drivers, recent Peach State Classic winner Ricky Thornton, Jr. will be behind the wheel of his dirt late model on Thursday before strapping into his Modified on Friday. 

Other drivers entered for Thursday night include Chris Simpson, Freddie Carpenter, Jason Feger and Ryan Montgomery.

A full list of drivers who will be racing on Thursday night can be viewed below. 

Fans unable to make it out to The Dome at America's Center will be able to watch all three days of racing live on FloRacing. If you're not already a FloRacing subscriber, click here to sign up today. 

Castrol Gateway Dirt Nationals Thursday Preliminary Roster

Adam Elliott

Blake Higginbotham

Bob Gardner

Bobby Pierce

Brandon Tibaldi

Brandon Sheppard

Brayton Laster

Brian Wolfmeier

Chad Zobrist

Chase Burda

Chris Simpson

Chris Fetter

Chris Carpenter

Colt Smith

Dakota Smith

Daniel Adam

David McCoy

Dewayne Kiefer

Doug Tye

Erik Thorne

Freddie Carpenter

Gordy Gundaker

Jacob Kolwyck

Jacob Magee

Jake Miller

James Walters

Jason Wagner

Jason Feger

Jayme Zidar

Jeff Neubert

Jeffrey Ledford

Jeffrey Shackelford

Jim Rogers

Joe Denby

Jonathan Woods

Jordan Barbee

Josh Baker

Josh Boller

Justin White

Kevin Smith

Kylan Garner

Kyle Hammer

Kyle Wiser

Matt Koch

Matthew Tribble

Michael King, Jr. 

Moran Alexander

Patrick Kelley

Preston Farmer

Quentin White

Rachel Carpenter

Ricky Thornton, Jr. 

Rusty Schlenk

Ryan Montgomery

Ryan Wilson

Ryan Unzicker

Scott Bell

Scott Rhoades

Shannon Babb

Steve Fairbanks

Tanner Collins

Tanner English

Tegan Evans

Timothy Welch II

William Stile